Driving in Miri


Section 28 of the Road Transport Act (APJ) 1987, states that “a driving license issued under the corresponding provisions of any law in force in any State which is a party to a treaty to which Malaysia is also a party and purporting to recognise domestic driving licenses issued by the contracting countries shall, so long as the license remains in force in that State, be deemed to be a driving license granted under this Part”.

Pursuant to Section 28 of APJ 1987, as mentioned above, the holder of a foreign country’s driving license can drive in this country as long as the foreign domestic driving license is still valid, and is accompanied by a translation in English or Malay (where the license is in a language other than English or Malay), which is confirmed by the embassy of the country of origin in Malaysia, or by the authority issuing the driving license concerned.

In this regard, a foreign citizen is not required to hold a Malaysian driver’s license to drive in Malaysia.

In addition, foreign nationals who want to drive in this country also have the option to use an International Driving Permit (International Driving Permit-IDP) issued by the country concerned before entering Malaysia.

Driving licenses from the countries listed are recognised and can be used for driving in Malaysia subject to regulations under the Road Transport Act 1987.

Afghanistan Albania Algeria Argentina
Australia Austria Bahamas Bahrain
Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium
Benin Bolivia Bosnia Herzegovina Botswana
Brazil Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi
Cambodia Cameroon Canada Central African Rep.
Chad Chile China Colombia
Congo Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia
Czechoslovakia Dahomey Denmark Dominican Rep.
Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Estonia
Ethiopia Fiji Finland France
French Polynesia Gabon Gambia Georgia
Germany Ghana Greece Guatemala
Guinea Guyana Haiti Holy See
Honduras Hungary Iceland India
Indonesia Iran Iraq Ireland
Israel Italy Jamaica Japan
Jordan Kenya Korea Kuwait
Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho
Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania
Luxembourg Madagascar Malawi Maldives
Mauritania Mauritius Mexico Monaco
Mongolia Morocco Myanmmar Namibia
Nepal Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua
Niger Nigeria Norway Pakistan
Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru
Philippines Rep. of Macedonia Rep. of Moldova Romania
Rwanda Russia San Marino Saudi Arabia
Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore
Slovakia Slovenia Somalia South Africa
South Yemen Spain Sri Lanka Sudan
Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syria
Taiwan Thailand Togo Trinidad & Tobago
Tunisia Turkmenistan Uganda Ukraine
United Kingdom U.S.A. Uruguay Uzbekistan
Venezuela Vietnam Western Samoa Yemen
Yugoslavia Zaire Zambia Zimbabwe